Log in

Member Log In

The Rittenhouse Award is given annually at the PubWest conference in memory of Jack D. Rittenhouse, the West’s legendary bookman. It was established in 1990 as a way to thank and honor those who have made an important contribution to the community of the book in the west.

The 2020 Rittenhouse Award presented to Malcolm Margolin

(Lake Oswego, OR)—PubWest, the leading trade association of small- and medium-sized book publishers, has awarded its 2020 Jack D. Rittenhouse Award to Malcolm Margolin.

“I’ve been fortunate enough to have some personal interactions with Malcolm, and he has been an absolute inspiration,” said Colleen Dunn Bates, PubWest board president and publisher at Prospect Park Books. “His love of books, his dedication to language and its preservation, and his reverence for the natural world and our mutually beloved state of California have made him a hero to me and every other Western publisher. I can think of no one more deserving of this honor.”

Malcolm Margolin accepted the Rittenhouse Award during the PubWest conference at the Hilton Portland Downtown, in Portland, Oregon in February 2020.

The Founder and Executive Director of the California Institute for Community, Arts, and Nature, Malcolm Margolin is an author, publisher, and former executive director of Heyday (formerly Heyday Books), an independent nonprofit publisher and cultural institution in Berkeley, California, which he founded in 1974. Through Heyday, he published hundreds of books and oversaw the creation of two magazines, News from Native California (1987) and Bay Nature (2001). He also co-founded The Alliance for California Traditional ArtsThe Inlandia Institute, and was instrumental in the creation of a number of Indian groups, including The California Basketweavers Association and Advocates for Indigenous California Language Survival. Malcolm has also written several books on California natural history, cultural history, and Indian life, including The Ohlone Way: Indian Life in the San Francisco-Monterey Bay Area (1978), which was named by the San Francisco Chronicle as one of the hundred most important nonfiction books of the twentieth century by a Western writer. He has received many prestigious awards, including a community service award from The San Francisco Foundation, Lifetime Achievement Awards from The Bay Area Book Reviews Association and the California Studies Association, a Cultural Freedom Award from the Lannan Foundation, and the Chairman’s Commendation from the National Endowment for the Humanities—for this award, he is the second recipient from the United States. His new book, Deep Hanging Out: Wanderings and Wonderments in Native California, will be published by Heyday in 2021.

Heyday was founded by Malcolm Margolin in 1974 when he wrote, typeset, designed, and distributed The East Bay Out, a quirky, personal, affectionate guide to the natural history of the hills and shores around Berkeley and Oakland. Out of this modest first effort a major California cultural enterprise took shape. From the start, Heyday worked in partnership with many of California’s leading cultural organizations. Heyday cofounded California Historical Society Press with the California Historical Society and together published several distinguished books. Heyday also has produced books in conjunction with the California Council for the Humanities; the California State Library; the Bancroft Library at the University of California, Berkeley; the Oakland Museum of California; the Commonwealth Club of California; Santa Clara University; the California Academy of Sciences; the Japanese American National Museum; Yosemite Conservancy; and many others.

Privacy  |  Contact Us  |  Join our email list 
Anti-Racism  |  Anti-Trust  |  Anti-Harassment


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software